Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

NaNo NaNo

1968303028.jpgThere’s nothing to writing.  All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.  ~Walter Wellesley “Red” Smith

I neglect my blog I know.  I apologize.  But I am within spitting distance of another finish line.  The YA novel is almost complete. 

With the end in sight, I work each day with a new energy.  I experience the writer’s version of a runner’s high.   It doesn’t hurt anymore to think.  I sit back, I type,  the characters tell their story. I’ve heard of this phenom from others who’ve gone before me.  I nod as I realize this truth. 

November is National Novel Writing Month.  As I type, I smile.  Writers across the land do the same.

Carpe Diem Y’all, Michele     

November 12, 2007 - Posted by | Autumn, Best Lines, Blogroll, Freelance Writing, Michele's Musings, Novel Writing, Novelists, Writerly Stuff, Writers, Writing

3 Comments »

  1. Do real writers need a National Novel Writing Month? Aren’t such things for poseurs and wannabes who KNOW they have that great novel in them, they just don’t have the time or energy to sit down and actually, y’know, WRITE it?

    Real writers write every day, every month, year in and year out. The printed word is our obsession, our daily prayer. We don’t need an excuse to write, it is already a compulsion, as critical as drawing breath…

    Comment by Cliff Burns | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. Good question. I too believe writers write. Period.

    And, I’m happy to give a nod to and play along with…what is it?…an event that puts a smile on the faces of a few collegues? Who am I to question another’s motivation?

    For me, the empty plate is my great motivator. I don’t write, I don’t get paid. But even before paychecks were involved, I, like you, wrote daily, monthly, year in and year out. I understand the compulsion.

    Great commentary, well said. It makes me think of a line in a memoir I read over the weekend. The writer, musing about her faithfulness to the craft described herself as “the Bride of Writing”.

    BTW, like your site. Thanks for stopping by, Michele

    Comment by Michele Bernard | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  3. A pleasure, Michele. I guess I have trouble with “colleagues” who make inflated claims re: their writing practice or who seize the honorific of “writer” or “author” without paying any of the physical, mental or emotional dues that come with it. Early on in my writing career my wife did have difficulty sharing me with my “Muse” (her rival) but had to learn to adapt. Two decades later, the three of us continue to co-exist amicably (“Bride of Writing”, indeed). Keep bloggin’ and keep writin’…

    Comment by Cliff Burns | November 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

