Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

A Peanuts and Cracker Jacks Kind of Day

ball_field.jpg Bittersweet October.  The mellow, messy, leaf-kicking, perfect pause between the opposing miseries of summer and winter.  ~Carol Bishop Hipps, “October,” In a Southern Garden, 1995

I squeeze hard, breaking the seam of the hard outer shell housing salty goodness within.  Shell flutters to the ground, and piles up around my feet as I pop roasted peanut into my mouth.  October breeze ruffles loose strands of hair escaped from my pony-tail. I brush my hair back and consider the day.  Bright, sunny, blue, and breezy.  Cool.  I love this day.

As I squeeze another peanut,  I look around.  Families grouped in twos and threes surround my family and me.  My father and mother sit in front of me.  My husband to the side.  We all face forward and watch as high school aged boys in dusty white pants and school colors throw the ball, hit the ball and run bases, honing their skills while entertaining those of us who spectate.

The stands we sit on are hard, wooden, weathered, sturdy.  The word historical comes to mind, as well it should.  The baseball park we enjoy this day is 94 years old, only one of two Class A Minor League parks of its kind and age in the nation.  Willie Mays played here.  Johnny Bench played here.  My dad played here. 

Today, my son plays here.  My dad smiles.  Big.  So do I. 

My husband turns to me, revealing a new treat:  Cracker Jacks in one hand, Double Bubble bubble gum in the other.  Within minutes we compare Cracker Jack prizes as we work to see who can blow the biggest bubble.  Cool.  I love this day.

Carpe Diem Y’all, Michele 

 © Michele Bernard 2007

October 23, 2007 - Posted by | Autumn, baseball, Best Lines, Family, Heart, Inspiration, Inspirational, Just Wow, Michele's Musings, Motherhood, Notes from the Cheap Seats, Parenting, Sports Stuff

5 Comments »

  1. Oooh, new theme! I like!

    Comment by Chris | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks! Still doesn’t hold a candle to yours though. LOVE your site, has become an everyday must read!

    Comment by Michele Bernard | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. Thanks! Aren’t you too sweet for saying that! I don’t know, I think your blog is more personal. I like that. I’m just not as creative with the wordsmithing as you are. Color me jealous!

    Comment by Chris | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  4. Chris is not the only jealous one. I, too, love the way you put words and sentences together. And I especially like the way you pair the perfect quotation with every post. Very creative!
    Laverne Daley

    Comment by Laverne Daley | October 31, 2007 | Reply

  5. Chris and Laverne, thank you for your kind words. As I’ve said to you both, your blogs are on my daily must read list , so I am especially humbled to know you’re getting a kick out of mine too! Write On Ladies, M:)

    Comment by Michele Bernard | October 31, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

