Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

Happy Birthday To Me

Relax, it’s not my birthday.  Yet.  But my husband surprised me with an early birthday gift and made good on a promise he made New Year’s Eve all at the same time. 

Flashback to New Year’s Eve:  Dressed to the nines, there we sat (and sat and sat) watching all the other couples glide around the dance floor, my feet tapping, remembering how much fun I used to have with my beloved dance partner Billy who passed away so many years ago.   My husband looked over and promised he’d learn to dance so next year, we too could join the fun. 

This week, he signed us up for 14 weeks of Latin Dance lessons.  To put this in perspective:  AND IT’S FOOTBALL SEASON.  Of course the caveat is if the Cowboys are playing, I’m on my own. 

So last night was our first salsa lesson.  We had a blast. 

And everything, even my fingers hurt today.  We were both moving a little slow around the coffee pot this morning, but it was worth it.   

I found this video that kind of looks like my husband and me dancing, except not.  My husband’s hair is much shorter and I don’t think we learn that last move till week three.  Other than that, it’s pretty close, but not really.

Salsa dancing at the Berlin Congress

September 17, 2007 - Posted by | Dance, Family, Heart, Michele's Musings, Music

4 Comments »

  1. OMG, that’s so sweet!

    Comment by Chris | September 17, 2007 | Reply

  2. He’s a keeper! And a good dancer! Who knew? Well, I guess I knew he was a keepr, but the dancer part was a pleasant surprise after all these years! M:)

    Comment by Michele | September 17, 2007 | Reply

  3. My husband and I once took dance lessons together. My feet were black and blue. Then to add insult to injury, the instructor announced that it is the woman’s fault if she doesn’t move fast enough to get her feet out of the way!

    Comment by spicetalk | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  4. I fear my instructor’s feet may be black and blue after last night! M:)

    Comment by Michele | September 18, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

