Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

Brush With Living History

in-memory-of-lady-bird.jpgIt’s not often that one has the opportunity to sit with one who has pictures of United States Presidents and the fore-fathers of Texas mixed in with baby pictures of his neices and nephews.  At least I’m not one who has had that sort of opportunity. That is until today. 

And to think, I thought I was just interviewing a local 93 year old World War II veteran who happened to be kind enough to share his story with me in connection with a Veterans Day story I’m doing for the magazine I write for.  Not only did he share his fascinating stories of his time in service to our country, he backed it up a bit, and I was treated to a Texas history lesson that will take me quite some time to process. 

As it turns out, this gentleman’s ancestors on both sides of the family tree, were responsible for settling a huge portion of Texas, before it was actually Texas in fact.  And both sides of his family have kept meticulous records, and memorabilia that he was more than happy to share with me.  His family stories jogged memories of Texas history class, but were more familiar, including anticdotes such as the snake bite remedy his great-grandmother used (the one she learned from the local Native Americans) when her husband was bitten by a copperhead snake. 

I know I will write much more on this later, but for now, I just need to process and let this experience sink in. 

Just wow.

Carpe Diem Y’all, Michele

August 11, 2007 - Posted by | Just Wow, Michele's Musings, Writerly Stuff, Writing

2 Comments »

  1. What a treat for you – and for him, too, I’ll bet! Can’t wait to hear more about it.

    Comment by Candace | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. Wow! How cool! Can’t wait to read it.

    Comment by Chris | August 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

