Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

It’s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

walking01.jpg  Every individual has a place to fill in the world and is important in some respect whether he chooses to be so or not.  ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

Have I mentioned that I love my neighborhood?  It’s a great neighborhood, situated in the heart of a historical district within walking distance of a revitalized hip and happening town square.  Our house, referred to by some old-timers as “The New House” (because it was built in 1950), is literally surrounded by some of the most amazing, lovingly restored Victorian homes in this part of Texas.  (We refer to our house as the place where people stand to take pictures of our neighbor’s houses).  When stepping out to retrieve the morning paper, I’m as likely to be greeted by folks enjoying the neighborhood walking tour, as I am an artist or a photographer standing in the corner of my yard, cameras poised on the ornate spirals of the majestic homes across the street.  I count this phenom as one of the many perks of living in the non-descript house as I’ve been privledged to meet some really cool artists and photographers over the years.

I enjoy looking at my neighbors’ houses as much as the tourists and artists do, but the thing that I really love about my neighborhood are the neighbors.  Here are some of my favorites:

  • The cowboy-hat-wearing-redhead who belts out arias while walking her big red dog.  I can hear her coming from two blocks away, and like a child tuned into the melody of an approaching ice-cream truck, I run to the window to listen and enjoy.
  • The happy woman who rides the big blue adult tricycle with the safety orange flag attached to the back and a big dalmation attached by leash to each handle bar.  I’m never sure:  is she walking the dogs or are they walking her?  But I am sure she’s enjoying herself based on the big grin she flashes as she passes by. 
  • The bow-tie wearing, scooter-riding businessman who buzzes past my house every morning and evening during the work week.

I love that the individuals are as colorful as the homes around me, making my neighborhood a truly fun place to be. 

Carpe Diem Y’all, Michele

June 4, 2007 - Posted by | Best Lines, Blogroll, Carpe Diem Quotes, Family, Michele's Musings

4 Comments »

  1. I’m sold. Call me the minute you see a For Sale sign, would ya?

    Comment by Serena | June 5, 2007 | Reply

  2. Will do! I would love to have you as a neighbor! Peace, Michele:)

    Comment by Michele Bernard | June 5, 2007 | Reply

  3. Ah! So, your neighborhood is kind of like mine – not only does it have character, it has characters!
    🙂

    Comment by Candace | June 5, 2007 | Reply

  4. precicely!

    Comment by Michele Bernard | June 6, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

