Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

Currently Reading

a-prayer-for-owen-meany.jpg         pigs-in-heaven.jpg        why-my-wife-thinks-im-an-idiot.jpg                                 

A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving:  I am loving this book.  How did I miss this the first time around?  Agree with Mr. Irving:  it’s a great first sentence.

Pigs in Heaven by Barbara Kingsover: Reading Buddy Rick dropped this one off last week.  Having a hard time getting into it.  This speaks more to my inability to locate my reading glasses/frame of mind than to Kingsolver’s ability to weave a tale.  Enjoyed Poisonwood Bible so I’ll stick with it .  I found Poisonwood hard to get into as well, but compelling enough to bring me back, thinking about it long after I put the book down.

Why my Wife Thinks I’m An Idiot The Life and Times of a Sportscaster Dad by Mike Greenberg:Hey Greeny, I tend to agree with your wife, mostly because I too, am female.  You are an idiot.  I’m laughing out loud one minute, squirming the next.  It’s a fun read if you’re a sports fan/parent, so I’m granting you an idiot exemption for being brave enough to publish the journal your therapist encouraged you to keep.  I can’t wait to finish this book and pass it on to Reading Buddy Rick.  Being a male/sports fan/parent/therapist he’ll really get a kick out of it.

Next in Line:

getting-things-done.jpghow-to-write-a-damn-good-novel.jpggrace-eventually.jpg

How to Get Things Done by David Allen.  My husband bought this book a couple of weeks ago.  As fate would have it, it’s a reference in the Blueprinting your Novel class taught by Patricia Burroughs.  Just love happy coincidences.

How to Write a Damn Good Novel by James N. Frey  A writer buddy loaned this book to me.  Am looking forward to digging in later this week.

Grace (Eventually) Thoughts on Faith by Anne Lamott.  This book is the carrot dangling in the B&N window.  It’s  keeping me on task.  On completion of current freelance assignments, this will be my bonus check.  Gosh, I have a great boss!

 Carpe diem y’all, Michele

April 3, 2007 - Posted by | Blogroll, Books, Michele's Musings, Novel Writing, Sports Stuff, Writerly Stuff, Writing

5 Comments »

  1. Oooh – this reminds me – I need to update this stuff on mah blog. Uh, thanks.

    Comment by chapterhouse | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. Don’t you just love Anne Lamott? I haven’t read Grace yet, but plan to get it soon. Spicetalker

    Comment by spicetalk | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. I love Anne Lamott. Her work makes me laugh out loud, shed tears and think. I vote her the official matron saint of writers.

    Comment by Michele Bernard | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  4. Sports_Betting_Systems

    Grease Lightning Mickey’s Magical Christmas: Snowed In at the House Of Mouse Kidney-headed hammerhead Vlad Tepes (band) Opole University of Technology Master’s Degree Thikra Mohamed Western Poison-ivy Brownsboro, TX Evangelical Lutheran Church of Ame…

    Trackback by Evangelical Lutheran Church of America | July 8, 2007 | Reply

  5. You already own “Grace”, Missy! Check your shelves again!

    Comment by Julie | February 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

