Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

Cascarones y Labrynths: My journey into Holy Week

egg-deco.jpg

 Yesterday I made my first cascarone, a confetti filled egg, traditionally smashed over a loved one’s head for good luck.   “Right, ” says my inner-cynic.  You know some kid made that up on the fly to justify smashing it over his little brother’s head.  Cascerones  symbolize the resurrection, the empty shell represents the empty tomb.  Nevertheless, I can’t wait to smash one over a loved one’s head.  Seems like a great way to release a little post-Lenten stress.

I just read an article about cascarones.  It ended with a cautionary note warning revelers to refrain from rubbing the cascarones into the recipient’s scalp, as egg shells are sharp and can cause injury.  Note to self:  research post-Easter emergency room visits in southwest communities.

 labyrinth_chartres_orig_600pix1.gif

Labrynths:  I am a fan of the labrynth.  I could go on and on, but I won’t.  I’m a kinesthetic, experiential learner, and I love the insights regarding the life journey I receive when contemplating labrynths.  It’s really NOT a maze,  as long as you keep moving you will reach your destination, you will not get lost.  Where you are on the path is exactly where you need to be in order to get where you’re going. 

I’ve had the great honor of leading several labrynth retreats for young people.  I’ve created opportunity for others to experience labrynth journeys.  I’ve witnessed over and over again what a powerful experience it can be.  But until yesterday, I’d never simply walked the labrynth as a participant.  I’m still processing the experience.

Unlike the retreats I’ve facilitated with only two or three people walking at any given time, this labrynth was open to several walkers at once.  And instead of Taize playing softly in the background, the tunes were a mixed cd of jazz guitar and early 70’s R&B.  I was moved each time I found myself walking in pace, with companions on each side, only to turn and realize my walking companions were peeling off in different directions, scattering us out to walk the next section alone.  I was moved each time I passed my son, me walking one direction, he another.  I was moved each time I stopped to allow someone going out to pass me by as I moved closer to the center. 

Wishing you insights and blessings along your journey.  Carpe diem y’all, Michele

April 3, 2007 - Posted by | Episcopalians, Inspiration, Inspirational, Michele's Musings

4 Comments »

  1. I’ve always wanted to walk a labyrinth. I know of a couple — where is the one you walk?

    Comment by pooks | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. The labrynth is at St. Peters. We have a gorgeous hand-painted canvas labrynth. It’s three huge pieces of heavy canvas. When velcroed together, it covers the entire parish hall. Teh youth group put it together and made it available to the parish Sunday night. The cool thing about it is it’s portable. I’ve lugged that thing all over northeast Texas in the back of my Ford Explosion. Just learned our vestry voted to paint a permanent labrynth on the floor of our parish hall. That will be way cool. I highly recommend the experience to all.

    Comment by Michele Bernard | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. Last night I walked the labyrinth for the first time and found it a deeply moving experience as I reflected on my journey, remembering where I’d been and how far I’ve come with all the challenges and stumbles in between but knowing, without doubt, that I am in the right place for this time, here, right now. It’s unique and all mine. Sacred.

    As I walked I was aware of God drawing close, his presence welcome, and in sharing the journey I felt we were somehow being reacquainted. It was beautiful and much needed. The walk was unhurried and, on leaving to go back into the world, I felt refreshed.

    Comment by Avril | April 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. Avril, that was absolutely beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing. His Peace, Michele

    Comment by Michele Bernard | April 8, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

