Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

And It’s A Wrap

            I love the rush I get when I complete a writing project, especially when I’m racing the clock to do so.  Cotton candy words such as light, pink, fluffy, sweet come to mind when trying to describe that particular rush.

            I don’t love it so much however, when deadlines nip me in the heels like a rabid dog.  That actually makes me a little crazy and difficult to live with.  Just ask my husband.  It’s probably because I’m one of those annoying always-fifteen-minutes-early-to-an-appointment-type folk.

           And I especially don’t love it when the reason a deadline nips is of my own making.  It’s not like I haven’t known of this particular deadline for about a year now.  It’s just that March 2nd, sounded so far away.  Sounded as if I had plenty of time to make the work I completed months ago pretty.  

           Yesterday, with the much appreciated help of fellow writer friends, I worked myself into a froth reworking, rewriting, and editing down to bare bones the synopsis that will accompany my Writer’s League of Texas mainstream fiction contest entry.  I did one final edit to ten pages of my novel, Darlene’s Las Vegas Surprise Party.  I double checked my cover sheet.  I made four copies.  I noticed a typo. I made one copy. I double checked. I made three more copies all of which looked smeared; I noticed the “low ink” light blinking.  I changed the ink cartridge, I looked at the clock.  Again.  I felt the deadline nipping away.  The faster I went, the more I felt as if I were wading through a sea of molasses.  I wondered why my printer/copier was so slow.  I wondered what I was thinking when I decided to give up wine for Lent. 

          This morning I double/triple checked the WLT mailing list against the content in my hands.  I headed to my friendly neighborhood courier service.  Together, the clerk and I laid hands on my work before sealing the Fed-Ex envelope.    And it’s a wrap.  For the rest of the day, I plan to enjoy the sweet feelings associated with realizing a personal goal that I came too close for comfort to blowing.  Carpe Diem Ya’ll, Michele

March 1, 2007 - Posted by | Blogroll, Michele's Musings, Novel Writing, Writerly Stuff, Writing

2 Comments »

  1. Hi, Michele – glad you sent out the corrected blog address. Yesterday I figured out all kinds of ways to spell your first and last names, thinking that I must have written them down wrong. 🙂

    I’m crossing my fingers for you on the WLT contest!

    Comment by chapterhouse | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. The brain fog is thicker on some days than others. Sorry for the confusion! And thanks for the crossed fingers. I’ll share results regardless. It should be fun to see what they have to say. Peace, M:)

    Comment by Michele Bernard | April 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

