Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

Looking for Loopholes: Thoughts on my Lenten Discipline

One day later, I’m already looking for loopholes.  Man it’s going to be a long 39 days and counting.  The thing is, even though I used to teach this stuff, I’m still a little fuzzy with the distinction between discipline and punishment.  The word discipline literally means to teach, while the word punishment means something entirely different.  Yeah, well, tell my inner-child that.  The one sitting in the corner with boo-boo lips because she’s not supposed to doctor her de-caffeinated coffee with anything sweet.  This morning, the self-talk sounds a little like this:

“If I give up all sweets, does that really include Splenda?”

“If I give up chocolate, that means I can’t eat M&M’s while watching baseball tonight.  So how am I supposed to watch baseball?” 

“If I give up complaining, God, perish the thought!”

I received an email from a friend sharing an Ash Wednesday reading from the sermon of Lancelot Andrews which was preached before King James I on Ash Wednesday, 1619:  “Yet even now, says the Lord, return to me with all your heart, with fasting, with weeping and with mourning; rend your hearts and not your clothing.  Return to the Lord, your God.”  (Joel2:12-13).           

So it’s not about the Splenda?           

 Guess I need to learn a little more about it.  Carpe Diem ya’ll, Michele

February 22, 2007 - Posted by | Episcopalians, Inspiration, Inspirational, Michele's Musings

5 Comments »

  1. Here’s my thoughts…

    If you need to stop and think about it, you probably should not be doing it!
    Did you give up sweets, or sugar?
    Did you give up dark chocolate or chocolate?

    If banana bread counts as a sweet, or desert, then my guess is splenda counts as Sweetener…aka something to make my drink taste sweet or better.

    Give it up, you won’t miss it in 39 days!

    Comment by Your Husband | February 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. And laugh about it.

    Don’t forget to laugh.

    Comment by pooks | February 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. Dear Husband: Preach it with the zeal of a convert! ly!M:)

    Comment by Michele Bernard | February 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. Pooks: and laugh we do! M:)

    Comment by Michele Bernard | February 23, 2007 | Reply

  5. Off topic – Help with PM?
    lost password
    Boss Resurfacing
    Boss Resurfacing

    Comment by Boss Resurfacing | September 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

