Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

Happy 2007

            Finally!  Kids back in school, family and friends back from whence they came, holiday decorations boxed and put away, rogue poinsettias holding on for dear sweet life, hoping beyond hope I won’t let them die a slow, painful parching death, me back at the keyboard.  It must be mid-January.

            Since I’ve never been able to shake the feeling that the new year actually starts in August when high school football two-a-day practice begins, for me,  January feels more like the beginning of the third quarter (after spending half-time gathered around the Christmas tree).  I know the score by now, and whether I’m winning, or coming from behind, I’m pumped up, and ready to get back to the game so I can rock-n-roll, get back to chipping away at the resolutions I committed myself to back in the fall.

            My novel in progress, working title, Marian’s Daughter is shaping up nicely, making it’s way to the top of my priority list till complete, or until freelance deadlines loom that is.

            My 2007 wish for you is that you’re back to rocking-n-rolling on your chosen path too.   Happy 2007 and Carpe Diem Y’all, Michele

January 17, 2007 - Posted by | Michele's Musings

2 Comments »

  1. hello michele, just dropped by to check out your blog. hope you have a great 2007. seize the carp. peace.

    Comment by chrisfiore5 | January 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. Wow! You never cease to amaze me. I’m always thinking about when I’ll be able to sit and read your blog and there never seems to be time. Unfortunately, the only time is now while I’m actually home in bed with the “crap” for the second time this season and maybe it’s the fever, but my emotions are all over the page after reading you.

    I rush to the mailbox on the days when the McKinney Living comes out, needless to say, I can not wait for your first novel. I’ve always been a reader, but after Dad died, I’ve noticed that his trait in me has grown tremendously. I can’t seem to get enough. I find it ironic that God put a you and I in the same family. I AM YOUR NUMBER ONE FAN!

    On a more serious note. I love you and your family and pray that God gives David some peace and rest in this trying time of Sharon’s passing. God’s peace be with you all!

    Your # 1 fan!

    Comment by KEG | January 29, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

