Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

Carpe Diem Moments

They’re everywhere, yet I forget, until I see one that takes my breath away and reminds me, Carpe Diem, Sieze the Day.  This past week there were many, notably:

  • My mother-in-law’s face as she lifted it to the sun after literally not seeing it since she was admitted into the hospital on July 10th.
  • The smile playing with the corner of her lips as she spied her little dog Sadie walking across the lawn of the long-term acute-care hospital where she continues to fight to heal from the devastating life-threatening illness she battles.
  • Watching my young teen-aged son play football, then the excited, exhausted play-by-play he likes to engage in on the way home from the game
  • My son and my husband spinning madly above me while riding a stomach-churning thrill ride at the State Fair of Texas
  • Sitting in a gondola atop the Texas Star ferris wheel, the largest in the western hemisphere, high above Dallas Fair Park, talking Cowboys football, and swapping Vegas stories with the man in the cowboy hat placed in the gondola with us
  • Hearing my soldier son’s voice on voice mail saying, “Hi mom, I’m safe.  Talk to you later.  Love you.”
  • Watching my youth minister son in action
  • Listening to the steady beat of rain rustling the leaves of the big magnolia tree outside my bedroom window

Carpe Diem y’all, Michele

October 17, 2006 - Posted by | Blogroll, Inspiration, Michele's Musings

3 Comments »

  1. Your heart is always looking up… that was a great “gratitude journal” entry!!

    Comment by BRIDGET | October 22, 2006 | Reply

  2. What a wonderful post, Michele. It warmed my heart just reading it. Thanks for sharing your joy with us.

    Bless you,
    Leeuna

    Comment by Leeuna | October 22, 2006 | Reply

  3. Ok…I don’t have children…but I loved watching my 5-month-old puppy experience her first 3″ snow. All the leaping about and eating the snow…made me smile. I really need to adopt children because Chili Pepper did NOT like the snow suit or boots…even if they were pink.

    Comment by Z.M. | December 24, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

