Carpe Diem Y’all by Michele Bernard

Writer, Texan, Semi-interested Sports Fan

Before and After

So I noticed while reading the news today, that Edvard Munch’s paintings The Madonna and The Scream are back on display after being rescued from the bad guys of the underworld art scene.  Which reminds me of the time I visited the tanning salon and tanned wearing nothing but a smiley face sticker strategically placed on my left breast.  Talk about a day of exestential angst.

Assuming I live to be the ripe old age of 88, which I fully intend to do, today marks my first day of being middle aged.  It occured to me while looking at those two paintings that I have a choice about how I’m going to do the next forty-four years. 

It’s my hope that for the next forty-four years, I’ll be a little more comfortable in my own skin.  It’s my hope that when I look in the mirror I see a madonna staring back at me and not that other creature as I’ve been wont to see from time to time, especially on Monday mornings after really great weekends.   Carpe diem ya’ll, Michele

September 28, 2006 - Posted by | Michele's Musings

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

